Reformation and Modernity, November 17-18, 2017

reforma 2International Conference: Reformation and Modernity

Bucharest, November 17-18, 2017

Faculty of Philosophy, University of Bucharest


The programme of the conference is available here:

Programme_Conference Reformation and Modernity

Organized by: Faculty of Philosophy & IRH-ICUB, Center for the Study of Rationality and Beliefs, University of Bucharest

Invited speakers: Mircea Flonta (University of Bucharest), Hans Klaus Keul (University of Ulm), Mogens Laerke (ENS Lyon), Ilmari Karimies (Univerity of Helsinki), Scott Mandelbrote (University of Cambridge), Charlotte Methuen (University of Glasgow), Vasilică Mugurel Păvălucă (Technical University Dortmund).

500 years ago, a piece of theological writing triggered an intellectual and social process with tremendous intellectual, social and political consequences. In many senses, we are still living in its aftermath, trying to understand its impact upon the social and cultural framework which we now perceive as familiar. Over time, the Reformation engaged the attention of philosophers, historians, sociologists, theologians, historians of ideas and historians of science attempting to understand its relation with the modern philosophy, the scientific revolution, capitalism, other cultural and social phenomena characteristic of European modernity.

Our conference aims to provide a forum for discussing current debates and breakthroughs on the subject of the inter-relations between Reformation and Modernity. We welcome papers coming from a variety of perspectives, and from all humanist disciplines.

Conference languages: English and Romanian.


Location: The Conference will be held at the Faculty of Philosophy, University of Bucharest, Splaiul Independenţei 204, Sector 6, postcode 060024, Bucharest. You can access on-line maps of Bucharest here. (

Organizing Committee: Franz Lothar Altmann (SWP Berlin), Romulus Brâncoveanu (University of Bucharest- Coordinator), Ştefan Buchiu (University of Bucharest), Otniel Bunaciu (University of Bucharest), Professor Wilhelm Dancă (University of Bucharest), Professor Gabriel H. Decuble (University of Bucharest), Associate Professor Dana Jalobeanu (University of Bucharest), Associate Professor Florentina Niţu (University of Bucharest), Constantin Stoenescu (University of Bucharest), Sabin Totu (University of Bucharest).

Selection Committee: Sorin Bădrăgan  ( University of Bucharest), Vasile – Adrian Carabă (University of Bucharest), Sorin Costreie  (University of Bucharest), Ileana Dascălu  (University of Bucharest), Mihai Draganovici  (University of Bucharest), Laurenţiu Gheorghe (University of Bucharest), Cristian Iftode  (University of Bucharest), Ana Petrache  (University of Bucharest), Ionuţ Alexandru Tudorie (University of Bucharest), Viorel Vizureanu ( University of Bucharest – coordinator).